Competition is not compulsory for any member.  It is up to each individual up to the time of the event commencing as to whether they wish to participate.  There is no expectation or requirement for any member to compete.  All members are however, encouraged to participate in any carnival or events that they wish to represent the club in.  We strongly support a “have a go” policy and support any individual who wishes to put their training towards a competitive environment.  

U14’s

The Under 14 and Under 15 group now form the “Youth” category.  Under 14 and Under 15’s will continue to race individual races in their age group and team events can be a combination of an U14 and an U15, gender specific.  We would like to officially welcome our new Under 14’s to the senior ranks and we hope you enjoy your season.  We all work together and will support you in your future endeavours.  The senior competition run a little differently to junior carnivals with the biggest change in the nomination process.  Bonnie Richardson is our nomination officer and does an amazing job with entering all nominations for all SLSSA events. 

Nominations

The nomination process is a time consuming process and the carnival entry fees are a significant cost to the club.  We have developed a nomination form, which enables Bonnie to collect your input as to what events/carnivals you wish to compete at.  The booking form is a link that can be accessed on your phone/iPad/tablet or computer and every “booking” made will result in an email being sent both to Bonnie and the member booking.  This confirms your requests have been received.  The link is published on FB in the West Beach Training Page, or please contact Bonnie via email at nominations@westbeachslsc.com.au

Once nominated, competitors will be required to check their entries for any errors or inaccuracies.  It is the athlete’s responsibility to ensure you are nominated.

Entry Fees

Entry fees for the events are determined by Surf Life Saving South Australia and these are a significant cost to the club.  Event entry fees will be covered by WBSLSC for those competitors who wish to join the Athlete Reward Program 2016-2017. For those members who do not wish to join the ARP, the event entry costs will club will invoice you for any events that you have participated in.

Surf Sports Calendar 2017 - 2018 - Current as at 16th August 2017

The calendar may still change, however venues have now been finalised. 

Surf Sports Calendar 2017 - 2018

Event

Date

Location

Patrol Season Starts

Saturday, October 7, 2017

 

 Boats

 

 

ASRLSA Surf Boats

Saturday, December 9, 2017

Robe

ASRL Open

Saturday, January 20, 2018

Moana

South Port Classic

Sunday, March 4, 2018

South Port

 

 

 

SA Club Events

   

Seacliff SPR

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Seacliff

Mid Coast Challenge

Saturday, January 20, 2018

CB

Brighton Jetty Classic

Sunday, February 4, 2018

Brighton

West Beach Pink and Blue Swim

Saturday, February 10, 2018

WB

 

 

 

Interstate Championships

Friday, January 19, 2018

Moana

 

 

 

Lifesaving Events State Championship

Sat, Feb 17, 2018 -  Sun, Feb 18, 2018

TBA

     

Senior Carnivals

 

 

Senior Carnival - Includes Boats

Sunday, October 29, 2017

TBC

Senior Carnival

Sunday, November 19, 2017

TBC

Senior Carnival

Sunday, December 3, 2017

TBC

Senior Surf Sport Event

Sunday, January 7, 2018

TBC

Senior Surf Sport Event

Sunday, January 21, 2018

TBC

Senior Carnival - Includes Boats

Sunday, February 25, 2018

TBC

Senior States Day One - Beach Events

Friday, March 23, 2018

Glenelg

Senior State Championships

Sat, Mar 24, 2018 -  Sun, Mar 25, 2018

TBC

     

Masters Surf Boat State Championships

Saturday, March 3, 2018

Southport

Masters State Championships

Sat, Mar 17, 2018   - Sun, Mar 18, 2018

Mid Coast

     

 SLSA Events

 

 

Summer of Surf

Sat-Sun 27-29 October 2017

NSW

Summer of Surf

Sat-Sun 17-19 November 2017

QLD

Summer of Surf

Sat-Sun 15 - 17 December 2017

Wollongong

Summer of Surf

Sat-Sun 12-14 January 2018

Victoria

Summer of Surf

Sat-Sun 2-4th Feb 2018

QLD

Summer of Surf

Sat-Sun 23-25 February 2018

Sydney

 

 

 

End of Patrol Season

Monday, April 2, 2018 

 

Aussies Championships

Sat, Apr 14, 2018 -  Sun, Apr 22, 2018