Junior Program dates & times

Nippers at West Beach is conducted on Saturday afternoons* from Oct/Nov through to the end of March

 AGE GROUP  SIGN ON SESSION TIME START DATE
 Under 6 & Under 7  from 1.45pm 2pm - 3pm Sat 5 Nov
 Under 8  from 1.15pm 1.30pm - 3pm  Sat 5 Nov
 Under 9 - Under 13  from 1.15pm

 1.30pm - 3.50pm

 Sat 22 Oct

* the following dates are Saturday MORNING sessions:

  • Sat 17th December (Xmas fun day, 10am-12noon followed by BBQ lunch)
  • Sat 7th January
  • Sat 14th January
  • Sat 4th February

Note the IMPORTANT DATES of the season

 

Carnivals (inter-club competition)

In addition to weekly training sessions, juniors in the Under 9 - Under 13 age groups are welcome & encouraged to participate in inter-club competitions (known as Junior Carnivals) throughout the season.
Held on Sundays (dates below), competitors are to report to our West Beach SLSC tent by 7.30am. Finish time is 3pm (maybe later for qualifying & state champs). Carnivals are a fun day out for the family where the children are able to participate in individual & team events encompassing board paddling, swimming, beach running, beach flags, wading & iron person (relevant to age group).

2016/17 Junior Carnival calendar:

 Junior Carnival Date Venue
 #1 Sun 20 November Somerton SLSC
 #2 Sun 18 December Port Elliot SLSC
 #3 Sun 22 January Seacliff SLSC (TBC)
 Qualifying Carnival Sat 25 February Glenelg SLSC
Junior State Championships Sat 18 & Sun 19 March Semaphore SLSC

 

Who runs nippers?

The junior surf life saving program at West Beach SLSC is run entirely by VOLUNTEERS.

Almost all of our volunteers are parents just like you who have put their hand up to help their children & our club.
All hold relevant qualifications and skills for their role, including a National Police Check.
Many hands make light work so we encourage all families to get involved.
Whether it’s coaching a team, setting up the equipment, selling the uniforms or cooking the sausages, there is definitely lots of ways for you to get involved.